Findlay, Ohio’s Ghost Town Findlay is a fascinating location that has been deserted for more than a century. Despite being largely forgotten, the town continues to have a special place in the hearts of those who are familiar with its past.
Findlay’s Reserve, the town’s previous name, was given to Colonel James Findlay, a War of 1812 soldier, when it was founded in 1829. The town, which was located along the Blanchard River, quickly developed into a humming commercial hub as numerous businesses and industries established themselves there.
One of the most important industries in Ghost Town Findlay was the lumber industry. The town was surrounded by vast forests, which provided ample resources for sawmills and other related businesses. The town’s lumber industry was so prosperous that it earned the moniker “the sawmill capital of the world.”
Ghost Town Findlay was the site of numerous businesses in addition to the lumber industry, including flour mills, grist mills, and even a brewery. With steamboats transporting people and goods up and down the Blanchard River, the town’s location along the river also made it a significant transportation hub.
However, in the late 1800s, the town’s fortunes started to deteriorate. As the timber industry expanded westward and other industries started to emerge in various regions of the country, the once-abundant forests started to disappear. The town’s economy began to falter, and many of its businesses were forced to close.
By the early 1900s, Ghost Town Findlay was all but abandoned. The town’s population had decreased, and the majority of its structures were in poor condition. The town had turned into a ghost town in every sense of the word; the once-bustling streets were now deserted.
Today, history buffs and tourists alike enjoy visiting Ghost Town Findlay. The town’s numerous derelict buildings and structures provide a glimpse into life in Findlay’s early years, and the rich history of the community has been preserved for future generations to discover.
The old flour mill is among Ghost Town Findlay’s most intriguing structures. The mill, which formerly produced a significant amount of flour and other grain products, is now deserted and empty. The interior of the mill, which is crammed with rusted machinery and outdated equipment, is open to visitors.
Another popular attraction in Ghost Town Findlay is the old brewery. The brewery was once a major producer of beer in the region, but like many other businesses in the town, it eventually closed down. Visitors can tour the brewery’s historic fermentation tanks and other machinery today as a reminder of the town’s long history.
Perhaps the most haunting building in Ghost Town Findlay is the old schoolhouse. The town’s children used to attend the schoolhouse, but it is now deserted and vacant. The schoolhouse’s numerous classrooms can be explored by visitors who want to get a sense of what it was like to go to school in a small town in the late 1800s.
Despite being abandoned for over a century, Ghost Town Findlay is still a place of great beauty and intrigue. A look into a bygone era is provided by the town’s numerous historic buildings and structures, and its rich history has been preserved for future generations to discover. If you are ever in the area, be sure to take some time to explore this fascinating and unique town.